top of page
  • Admin

Who is Vinka?

Updated: Aug 22, 2020


Vinka: My real name is Veronica Luggya aka Vinka, A 24 years old musician born and raised in Uganda signed under the Record label "Swangz Avenue"


How long has music been a thing for you?

Vinka: Well, Music has been my thing since childhood but then at school, I was more of a dancer.

Came out of high school and started doing backup dancing for big artistes for a few years while in University then I joined "Swangz Avenue" (My record label) as an "artist manager" which I did for about three years.


Then finally, last year on Feb 1st I was introduced to the world as a Musician.


What part did music play growing up and in dancing? Is it something that came as a talent or you worked your way to perfecting it?


Vinka: For me naturally, music has always been good for my soul. Music is something that speaks to me - Changes my mood from sad to extremely happy and of course my dancing came as a talent, it's God-given and inborn.



You mentioned being an artist manager under the label. Who were the artistes under your care and how was the experience?


Vinka: Irene Ntale and Winnie Nwagi amongst others... The experience was great I can't lie being that I was 19 going on 20.


This job helped me grow, met new and developmental people along the way...


Was this your first major into the music business? As a first-time artiste manager, what challenges did you come across?

No... The first thing in the music business was dancing which I did for like a year!


So it was from dancer to artist manager and yeah it was my first time being artist manager...

Had to learn most of the management skills, in the long run.

Had a few challenges in the beginning... being young and female it was unbelievable to some clients at times Then balancing school and artist management because I was at University by then…


How was the transitioning like from being behind the scenes to being in front of the cameras? What was your "okay this is what I want to do moment?

I always knew I'd sing but I didn't know when that would happen.

When I became an artist manager it kind of got off my mind a bit although I used to do voice-overs and jingles then drops for producers.

Not until this one time my boss walks up to me and says " we need a dancehall female artist that's good at dancing" and I’m like well let's scout... he said "you are the artist am looking for" that was like my first year of artiste management!!


I laughed about it thinking it was the usual Jokes!! Thought about it after two years I told him I was ready..... And the rest was history.


Transitioning hasn't been easy because the majority of the clients and people in the industry knew me as an artist manager so they were never content.


Most of them made comments like she's better at artiste management but yeah now it has sunk in. They now call me by “Vinka" not "Vero"


What was your first official release as an artist?

My first release as an artist was "Level"


What was the concept of the song "Level"?

First of all, Level is my baby. The first song I recorded in the studio. Level is my club banger, I am basically telling the Dj to "touch di pause" asking the crowd to dance my way.

What's your process? What inspires you?

I am inspired by risk...trying out something new that might seem complicated!! That keeps me focused and determined.


What challenges as a new artiste have you had to face in your industry?

Cyberbullying, body shaming because I am a little tiny but yeah all this boosts my confidence I try to focus more on the positives.

What's your end goal in doing this? At the end what do you want to look back and say MAMA I MADE IT? I want to inspire those younger and maybe older than me... not to stop dreaming; if you wanna do something go for it!


Also, in the end, I wanna look back and say "Veronica I Am proud of you"



61 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page