top of page
  • Atim Mercy

Closest friends abandoned me after Radio’s death - Weasel

Updated: Aug 21, 2020


Ugandan local musician Douglas Mayanja aka Weasel Manizo has revealed his regrets for the people he has always referred to as friends before his music partner Radio Mowzey passed on.


During a TV interview, the friendless musician opened up how he was psychologically disappointed by the people he always referred to as friends.

Weasel said that many of the people who used to hang out at their Neverland home have deserted the place ever since Radio died.


“Those who deserted me were not real friends. They think I am not important anymore after my friend died,” Weasel revealed.


Weasel’s closest friend Moses Nakintije Ssekibogoaka Radio, the lead singer and Vocalist died on 1 February 2018 from brain injuries after an assault by a bouncer at a hang out spot in Entebbe town, south of the capital Kampala.

Radio's attacker threw him down about 3 meters (9.8 ft.) onto a concrete pavement, which resulted in massive intracranial haemorrhage.

Radio died at Case Hospital in Kampala where he had been admitted days after that fateful night.

For ten years Radio and Weasel were able to release hits like “Magnetic”, “Bread and butter”, “Juice and Juicy” and “Nakudata”. They won many awards and gained recognition all over Africa and abroad. These two best friends were inseparable.

Weasel, however, concluded that it’s a good thing that his fake friends left because now he only has good friends around him.


“I can now keep drinks at my home in the fridge. Some people used to come to drink. Even when I am going out, I never have a big entourage these days. It’s a good thing for me,” he concluded.

120 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page