top of page
  • Chris Tinka

UGANDA: No lockdown at least for this week.


President Museveni will not address the country this evening as earlier communicated, even as the country registers surging coronavirus infections.


Information released by State House on Tuesday morning shows that the president is still engaged with other matters of the state.


The Minister for Information and National Guidance, Judith Nabakooba communicated that the president will be announcing furthers guidelines to stem the pandemic later.



Senior Press Secretary Don Wanyama said that the said address was not on the President’s to-do list.


Uganda has so far registered 2,362 cases and 25 deaths. Saturday was the most disturbing day with 318 new COVID-19 cases.


On Monday, the Ministry of Health declared 99 new COIVD-19 cases, with Kampala accounting for half the number number of infections.


Media houses like New Vision, NTV Uganda and other government parastatals reported COVID-19 cases among their staff members.



The Assistant Inspector of Police, Asan Kasingye and Amanda Ngabira a popular lecturer at Makerere University revealed that they had tested positive for the virus.


"I have overcome the biggest disaster-FEAR! Since I got my COVID-19 results, my heart moved to my lower back. You will never stand firm when your heart is in such a place." Amanda posted on her Facebook.


"I am glad I am being attended to, and I am not interacting with the public. I am happy I tested. I would have never known a thing, yet I would be spreading it, even to the very vulnerable people." She added.

The country is on tenterhooks fearing that the President may direct a new lockdown in his next address to the nation.


"The President may lock us again. People are flouting the government directives on COVID-19, yet cases are rising," a barber said in Bugolobi, a Kampala city suburb.



However, the Minister of Health, Dr Jane Ruth Aceng, has made it clear that the COVID-19 taskforce has reached no such decision on reinstating the lockdown.


The Minister cautioned the general public to continue following the guidelines set to protect against the virus.


"It appears to me that some people fear lockdown more than the disease. Let everyone follow the guidelines and protect themselves from the disease and there will be no lockdown," Aceng said while talking to Chimp Reports an online newspaper.






222 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page