top of page
  • Admin

Bobi Wine Stirs Tribal Undertones, Forewarns 50-Year M7 Dynasty

Updated: Aug 21, 2020


Bobi Wine is assuming the People Power sole candidature, an organization with no systems, processes or a single structure in the country.


He is all out vying to unseat long-serving benevolent dictator, Yoweri Kaguta Museveni in the forthcoming Uganda Presidential Elections.

Follow through his transcript from Simon Kaggwa's Wednesday Morning Breeze interview by NBS Television.


Simon Kaggwa Njala: You are joining a sea of other contenders, we've seen powerful names, General Tumukunde is in the race and he sounds unstoppable. We've seen of late; Ayiine has also come, joined the fray, Charles Rwomushana, and several others.

What kind of election is this likely to be?


Bobi Wine: Well for starters, I think it's a good thing that you guys are getting confident. A while ago, it was almost unheard of, to challenge Museveni, but now Ugandans believe that anybody can run for president, especially if they have the support of the people. So it's a good thing.

However, I must also mention that it will be more advantageous when we come together. I mean, look here, look at Malawi, they had to come together to beat the incumbent that was there.


Of course, they didn't manage to get 100% unity because there was also another Opposition Leader that was running, lucky enough the opposition won if the opposition had failed it would be blamed on disunity.


So I'll call upon all these brothers and sisters to work together with us. But again, even when we cannot work together, we should not fight amongst each other.


I must mention that Museveni has used this trick many times trying to create his own contenders to disorganise the opposition, and the people of Uganda are watching us.


I want to send this message to all my fellow contestants, that the people of Uganda should not see us as people that are just looking for their own benefits.


We must be seen by Ugandans as people that are actually on a mission to free them.


People Power announced that they will be endorsing candidates, except for the presidency, aren't you creating the cult of sorts?

We're not creating a cult, my brother. This we have been doing for three years. Okay?

But the position of the presidency is ring-fenced. It is not. Why don't you open yourself to the competition?

But there has been competition, we announced close to a year ago, we had a wide range of members of parliament, a wide range of other leaders. It was a huge function. That function came after long deliberations; we've been doing our business.

So you were unanimously endorsed as a sole candidate?

No, we do not have a sole candidate. We came up with our candidate a long time ago and it's a presidential candidate.


Those things of soul candidates are just wordings and I don't want anything that makes me look like Museveni, I am not like him.


The entire world should put eyes on Uganda, for Ugandans, don't be fooled by this Electoral Commission put by Museveni to facilitate their 50-year plan.


But that 50-year-plan is a figment of someone's imagination.

It is being proved, you see, it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, walks like a duck. It is a duck. Do you understand?


So, here is a situation where Byabakama leads a team of the Tashobyas and the Taremwas and Rwakoojo and they go meet Kaguta and he gives them instructions, yet he is also a candidate.


Gives them order and they come to impose them on the people of Uganda, and they expect us to take that, people of Uganda must defy that.

You are despising an electoral commission that is going to manage your ballot?

No, I don't owe them any good words. Okay? They're our servants. They are not our bosses; Byabakama should know that he is a servant of the people of Uganda. And he should know that he's in a susceptible position.


I think you're going personal.

No, I'm not going personal! I'm not going personal, I'm talking to somebody.


You'd rather focus on the institution of the Electoral Commission. If you have reputation issues, go for the institution, not the individual.

You see, I don't want to be politically correct. I want to be real because you are not talking to a politician, I'm sorry about that. So I will say things the way they are.


Do you understand that my brother? If you're scared, you can keep quiet. I will say them.


In real terms, the coming months are going to be highly political, but during a pandemic and a lockdown time.

I must say this lockdown is political. COVID-19 has been politicized. What is the relationship between COVID-19 and curfew?

But the entire world has experienced a lockdown.

Yeah, but they have not handled it the way Uganda is handling it. Okay. For example, Sweden did not lock down and yet it was more affected.


But in any case, matters that are to do with the freedoms of people. Nothing will stop them.


I will remind you that in America, they killed one black person but because this was just a spark of the oppression that they've endured for more than 400 years. They came out on the streets, not just in America, in the entire world.


Are you going to do rallies?

Simon Kaggwa Njala, as we speak now there is a rally in town. What is the Electoral Commission saying about that?


Who is Addressing that rally?

Well, I know that rally is a mass of people coming together. Okay, there's no social distancing anywhere there. But the rallies we are talking about are organized and controlled rallies.


In town, nobody is going to go until people that before you come to town, you must social distance, you must wear a mask, you must do this.


But coming to our rallies, we can arrange people to wash their hands as they walk in. We can arrange for people to have masks, all of them.

We can arrange for people to have social distancing among them because we have control of those rallies. The government does not have control about people that are in town and they don't even care.


Simon, Museveni does not give a damn about you Ugandans. He does not care whether you live or die for as long as he stays in the statehouse. This must be clear, and I am sure you people also know it, only that you're either being hypocrites, you not talking about it.


Who is being a hypocrite?

You people in the media, why are we discussing things that we see? And these are questions that the ghetto people ask.


People want a real election. Okay? If Museveni cared for the people of Uganda, they would have food which they paid for which money we passed.


If he cared for Ugandans, all the money that we receive would be used to fix hospitals. If Museveni cared for Uganda, we would have more ambulances and not police patrol cars.


If he cared about Ugandans, the Doctors and Nurses would be held in very high regard, their payment would be raised.


Okay? If you cared about Ugandans everybody would have a mask, he does not care about you. He doesn't. He sees us as his farm.


Okay? And that's what gives all these people that hang around him the audacity to even look at us as their slaves.


The momentum for change, especially among your generation, the youth must have been dampened by the lockdown. Do you think you can resurrect it?


I'm very glad that all this has come. Of course, it was terrible that the COVID-19 hit us economically and otherwise, but I'm glad because it reminded Uganda and especially those young people that spent all their time in discos.


Many times I would go to a club and feel so bad. I'm like, now Look at all these young people. You know, they have no idea how they are being governed.


But when they were locked down, in this period, all of us tasted the brunt of bad governance, and maybe it will wake us up.

It had to take COVID-19 to wake us up. I look at it as a blessing, especially that nobody has died out of it now, save for those that have been killed by the LDUs and of course, killed by the actions and omissions of the government.


We used to lose 18 women every day, giving birth. How many do you think we lost in this period when people cannot even have a Boda Boda to a hospital?


This situation has communicated to us to all of us and I am sure by the end of it we won't be politically sterile anymore.


Has anyone come to you with a proposal that perhaps you bow out and let someone, you remain in the constituency of Kyadondo?

I did not come here to be an MP. I did not come here to be President. I did not come here to occupy any position. I came here to put an end to the dictatorship.


So I have no business staying Member of Parliament when Uganda is still under a dictatorship.


Which Member of Parliament does not even have a right to go to talk to five of my constituents? If I went to visit a hospital or a prison I would be arrested. Do you understand?

So you're creating a vacancy in your constituency. Yet it was more of a sure deal for you.

My brother Kaggwa, this is not about Kyagulanyi, Kyagulanyi could be killed like they tried to kill me in Arua. Do you think this revolution will stop?


No, it will not stop. One time somebody asked me and I told him like I will tell you now that we feel like we are already winning.


Okay? Our biggest mission was to open the minds of you Ugandans.


Tupac Shakur, one of the greatest rappers of all time said I cannot guarantee you that I will change the world, but our guarantee you that I will spark the brain that will change the world.


So, we might face anything, anything might happen. But be sure that nothing can turn back, Ugandans cannot turn back, Museveni cannot do anything to stop the course of history.

Your revolution seems to have no end in sight.

You probably might need to remove your spectacles so you see clearly. I told you at the beginning of the show that Museveni is at his weakest.


Never before have we seen the people of Uganda, especially young people so interested in the way they are being governed.


I think it's far fetched to imagine that Museveni is at his weakest?

At 38 I have been watching the entire country. I've been moving the entire country, I continue to move across the country.


I see with my eyes. I don't watch these on TV. No, I see with my own eyes, everywhere I go. People have come to the realization of how deprived they are, how we cheated they are, how duped they've been.


It is now 34 coming to 35 years after the Museveni entry that people realize how much of a con man he is.


How much of Liar. He is how much of an oppressor he is. And yes, they are realizing how much of a coward he is.


So if I tell you that Museveni is at his weakest I know what I'm talking about because he has men completely undressed. Okay, he has been completely undressed.

To be continued...


















513 views0 comments

Comentarios

No se pudieron cargar los comentarios
Parece que hubo un problema técnico. Intenta volver a conectarte o actualiza la página.
bottom of page